The Digital Detox

vb_v6w1nmea-pineapplesI don’t know about you but clutter breeds stress and anxiety in me big time. This includes digital clutter. This year I’m committed to weeding out all the fluff in my life so I can focus more on what matters. In keeping with a theme of simplicity and contentment for the year I am not only challenging myself to let go of physical things, but I am doing the same with my digital life.

I thought about sharing a step-by-step process of what I did, but why re-invent the wheel when this Declutter To-Do List from Becoming Minimalist is thorough and concise. I will, however, share what I gained by letting so much go.

1 – Productivity

If it couldn’t help me #cultivatewhatmatters in my life or work toward my goals then it was time to let go. This included social media accounts. Now I spend less time searching for files and things I need because I know where they are. And not only am I more efficient, but so is my computer! And I more free time which is a bonus (hello, reading for the fun of it)!

2 – Reduced Frustration

Social media is such a noisy place, and has been a great source of frustration for me (I’m looking at you, 2016 election season). Unfollowing people & accounts that are contributing to that noise has significantly reduced the amount of frustration and anxiety I’ve felt. We each get to choose what fills our feeds – hopefully we are choosing to fill it with #whatmattersmost and is meaningful to us. It’s okay to unfollow people who are constantly contrary or ruffle your feathers often.

3 – Contentment

When all I have on my computer and in my social media feeds is what inspires me toward what matters most in life, I am much more content. I’m not reminded of how I fit in (or not) or what I am missing (or not). I’m not distracted by how well I am (or aren’t) measuring up. Turning down the noise from what distracts me has resulted in much more contentment with my own real life.

What about you? Have you done a digital detox? How did you go about it and what did you learn? I’d love to hear about it!

 

Leave a Reply

