How Was February?

February is probably my least favorite month of the whole year. It’s when I am about over being cold and not seeing the sun shine through the clouds. It’s when homeschooling the kids seems hardest. February is when cabin fever sets in hard. It is in February that I shift into Survival Mode.

Here’s how our February went down …

  1. I watched the live-stream of the IF:Gathering. IF has been on my radar for a few years, and recently has really been on my mind. IF and some of the speakers (Jen Hatmaker and Ann Voskamp are examples) are quite controversial in the church these days. I knew that going in to it and definitely had my guard up and paid careful attention to what was being said and how it was being communicated.

    Overall, I felt like most of the speakers were legit. I am not really a fan of Jen Hatmaker and Ann Voskamp for various reasons. My Spidey-Sense goes off when they speak or write. I won’t go in to detail here, but you can do a quick Google search and find what I am talking about.

    In the end, I am glad I “attended.” I felt like God spoke to me in real and personal ways and confirmed directions He’s been nudging me toward.
    Amish Parenting 1

  2. The husband and kiddos traveled to see family, and I got 5 whole days to myself. I used my time catch up on some chores, paint the trim in our kitchen, go to lunch with a neighbor, sleep in, and prop my feet up and READ.
    .
    My book for February was More Than Happy: The Wisdom of Amish Parenting. I first saw the book in Costco and the cover intrigued me. I really enjoyed the book. Although I don’t agree with the Amish interpretation of Scripture, I found it incredibly insightful to learn more about their culture and their parenting practices. I borrowed this from the library, but it is one that I would love to have on my bookshelf.
    .
  3. We got a dumping of snow, which delighted the kids. We spent an entire day shoveling out (which I actually enjoy), and then another day playing in it.

And before we knew it, February was over. I am especially eager to see and feel Spring arrive this year.

How was your February?

 

Leave a Reply

