January Goals

I’ve spent the entire month of January reflecting, vision-casting and goal setting. I’ve really enjoyed being able to take my time thinking through goals. This is what January has encompassed …

First I choose one word that described the kind of year I wanted to have, or the kind of person I wanted to become. I chose the word “fruitful.” You can read about why I chose that word here.

Once I had my word, I listed my large-scale, broad goals. From there I thought backward: if I wanted to accomplish “x” by Dec 31, 2016, what month-by-month steps would I have to make to get there? This exercise allowed me to make smaller, bite-sized goals for myself that I could focus on one month at-a-time.

Some of my goals for 2016

Lose 15-20 pounds • losing just 2 pounds per month will allow me to accomplish this goal

Read one book a month • my January read was “Better Than Before” by Gretchen Rubin (side note: I, personally, did not really care for the author’s communication style, but I did glean a few nuggets from the book. My rating: 3 stars.)

Study one Fruit of the Spirit per month until I’m done • I want my life to bear the good and obvious fruits of following Jesus.

Finish the decluttering processthis book has changed the way I approach cleaning and tidying up profoundly. I’m tackling at least one category per month until I’m finished.

Adopt “clean house habits,” one per month • each month I’m practicing a new clean house habit in hopes that it will create a different culture of tidiness and cleanliness in our home

Tackle some house projects (finances permitting) • I assigned one project per month throughout the year, taking in to account weather and seasonal activities

These are just a few of the steps I’ll be taking. I’m excited to get started!

What is one goal you have for the year?

2 thoughts on “January Goals

  1. Heather says:

    I just finished Saying Goodbye To Survival Mode & am really working on setting SMART goals for the rest of the year (apparently I’m in the “bite off more than I can chew” category). So I really enjoyed reading your list! How’s it going for you almost 9 months in? I looove your idea for studying one Fruit each month. I think I need to adopt that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

